The Pro Files: Road to recovery

What does it take to become a professional skier? We’ve been following UK freeskier Ross Welch this season to find out…

This season I have been in Mayrhofen, Austria training and competing on the AFP World Tour. However, my plans were cut short following a knee injury in training. In fact I managed to rupture my ACL, tare my meniscus and PCL, fractured my femur and finally dislocated my patella. Not bad! Joking aside, it was probably one of the lowest points of my life and the uncertainty of recovery made the initial weeks even more daunting. I knew that it was just the same as any other injury, I would have to be committed to a strict diet and gym regime if I wanted to get back on my skis in top condition.

I was very fortunate to be surrounded by good friends and a great insurance company who provided me with the best surgeons available and intense physiotherapy. As the weeks past I went from learning to walk to jumping up stairs, training in the gym five days a week. I used my time off skis wisely and started working on a major project which will be revealed in the next few months!

Combining dedication with the support given, I was back to light skiing in little over nine weeks. Thankfully due to a vertical rupture in the ACL, surgery was not required, aiding in the recovery time. I am pleased to say that I am now back up to strength and training hard to ensure I will be 110% for New Zealand this summer!

You can keep up to date with what I’m doing over at www.rosswelch.co.uk or www.facebook.com/skirosswelch

I would just like to take this time to say an added thank you to the guys at Sportmed Tirol along with my sponsors Atomic, ERV Travel Insurance, NothinButSnow, The Snow Centre and Mons Royale for all of their support throughout the season.

atomicsnow.com
erv.co.uk
thesnowcentre.com
nothinbutsnow.com
monsroyale.com

Ross Welch
Leave a Reply

