Katy’s Blog: City Ski Championships in Crans Montana

After a few days back in Chamonix, it was back over to Switzerland again with the Mountain Radio team for the Caprise festival in Crans-Montana, about an hour and 40 minutes drive from Chamonix. Sadly, The Killers had to cancel as their equipment hadn’t reached Paris due to bad weather, but we still rocked out to 2manyDJ’s. By coincidence at the same time in Crans-Montana was the City Ski Championships event. I again joined Warren Smith’s group, as did celebrity chef Heston Blumenthal, who was making his second trip to City Ski. You can see a video of his session with Warren on YouTube.

City Ski Championships in Crans-Montana

City Ski Championships in Crans-Montana

It was soon time to race on a course which had been set up on the ‘National piste,’ normally a testing World Cup track for champions such as Didier Cuche and Lindsay Vonn. Warren had pointed out that my key problem was not turning early enough on my left turns and occasionally letting my legs ‘split’ rather than stay parallel. But apart from that I didn’t do too badly –although I lost to someone in garish lycra racing kit who shot out of the gates and who I had no hope of catching. These city types do take things seriously!

After a night back at the Caprises festival, watching aging rocker Alice Cooper’s sublime pantomime of a show, we then raced a Giant Slalom. I was a little late getting there post ‘Alice’, and managed to make it my first run of the day. I completed it in 1 min 26 seconds, which was pretty slow considering some of the guys were under one minute. After the race it was back to the ZeroDix après ski bar where we did some live interviews with Frank Gardner – BBC Security Correspondent and President of the Ski Club of Great Britain.

You can hear some of the interviews I did for Mountain Radio on my SoundCloud page.

Katy Dartford
Leave a Reply

