Ski instructor training in Tignes: It’s Au Revoir but not Goodbye to my BASI level 2 course

Ski Club of Great Britain member Tessa Regan is in Tignes for a ‘gap-year’ – saying goodbye to city life and hello to sun, snow and seasonnaires… better late than never!

So at the end of a pretty tiring two week assessment for BASI Level 2, I have some good news and some bad news.

The good news is that I passed the teaching section of the course, but the bad news is that I need to do a 5 day technical reassessment as a couple of areas of my skiing did not reach the required standard. The Level 2 fortnight was very intensive as we were trained and then assessed on both our teaching skills and our technical skiing ability on piste, on bumps, on steep slopes and in variable snow, followed by a couple of hours of workshop/video review sessions and then homework to complete or sometimes lessons to plan for the next day. However, our BASI trainer was very supportive and helped us to make improvements in all aspects of our teaching and skiing, whilst also ensuring that we had some fun along the way.

Gapski team

Gapski team!

Last day celebrations

Last day celebrations

So as I look back on the last 10 weeks, I know that my skiing and my confidence have both improved considerably, I have met some fantastic people, I have skied every day in one of the world’s best ski areas and I have certainly had some great laughs. I would like to say a huge thank you to our TDC instructors and our BASI trainers for all their fantastic instruction, help and support throughout the course. I would also like to thank my fellow gappies for their great company, all the fun we had and for the help and encouragement they gave me whenever I was having difficulty with any aspect of my skiing. I was certainly very sad when it was time to say goodbye to them all and I do hope our paths will cross again. I will be heading back to the UK in a few weeks time to resume working on our ski resort home swapping website, which my sister has been looking after very well in my absence, but not before spending some quality skiing time in Chamonix with my husband – well it would be rude not to squeeze the last little bit out of my first ever ski season!

So if anyone is thinking of following in my footsteps and signing up for the Gapski course next season, I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending it – go on, you know you want to!

Read the previous blog in this series: We’ve had our fun, now let’s get serious!

Tessa Regan

Snow Swappers is a holiday swapping service for people that own property in ski resorts around the world. Membership is free of charge for the first year and there are chalets and apartments available to swap now in both Europe and North America.

Leave a Reply

