Ski fitness: time to do some homework…

Are you really prepared for a week of intense exercise? The Ski Club’s Rob Crabtree is about to find out if he is…

When it comes to skiing, I consider myself to be quite knowledgeable. For instance, I could answer things like “How long does it take to drive from Calais to Bourg St Maurice?” or “What time should I leave ‘Folie Douce’ to get back to Tignes?” but let’s be honest, these aren’t exactly the most crucial questions on everyone’s lips. And when it comes to questions on fitness and preparation, I’m a complete novice.

I’d like to think of myself as a relatively fit person. Cycling the eight miles to and from work certainly gets the heart going, and sometimes I even get a bit of leg burn, but apart from the odd Sunday afternoon dressed in full ski gear and boots parading around the house, my ski preparation is pretty non-existent.

However, it’s a bit late to change my game plan now, as this weekend the “skis must go on” when I head out to the French resort of Les Contamines. I’m looking forward to exploring what the resort has to offer, but before I can even consider going down, I’m going to be learning more about warming up.

My goal is to find out where I’ve gone wrong and just how important it is to do some proper, ski-specific exercise. A bit of physical preparation means a couple of casual lunges and a handful of departure lounge sit-ups right?

Well, I have a sneaking suspicion there’s a little more to it! Watch this space, as I return fit (and well-stretched) with the results next week, and hopefully some good ideas about the best way to really get in shape and physically prepare for the slopes.

In the mean time, here’s some advice on Ski Club TV from someone who actually does know what he’s talking about:

Watch Graham Bell’s fitness tips

Rob Crabtree
Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

